Saturday, July 18, 2009

**Our completed immigration journey**

OUR STORY
----------------------------------

November 27, 1985 - Hubby born
Sometime in 1987(?) - Hubby's dad leaves the family to go to the U.S.
Sometime in 1988(?) - Hubby and his mom join his dad EWI
January 2001 - Met hubby online
June 16, 2004 - Met hubby in person
August 14, 2004 - Moved in with hubby at my MIL's house
February 2007 - Moved to our own place!
June 16, 2007 - Married !

IMMIGRATION PROCESS
-----------------------------------

November 7 2007 - Sent I-130
November 9 2007 - I-130 Received by CSC
January 25 2008 - I-130 NOA 1 (finally!)
January 27 2008 - I-129f Sent to CSC
January 29 2008 - I-129f Received by CSC
January 31 2008 - I-129f NOA 1
February 5 2008 - BOTH TOUCHED
March 27 2008 - I-130 Touched !
March 28 2008 - BOTH TOUCHED
March 28, 2008 - I-129f & I-130 Approved (141 days!)
May 5, 2008 - AOS bill & DS-3032 generated
May 15, 2008 - Surprised to receive AOS bill & DS-3032 for CR 1 Visa !
May 16, 2008 - Pay AOS bill online & email DS-3032
May 16, 2008 - AOS bill completed
May 20, 2008 - I-864 generated
May 21, 2008 - I-864 Sent
May 23, 2008 - DS-3032 accepted & IV bill sent
May 25, 2008 - IV bill generated & paid online!
May 30, 2008 - DS-230 Sent Overnight
June 4, 2008 - DS-230 Received !!
June 6, 2008 - CASE COMPLETE !!!!!!!!

August 7th, 2008 - 1st Appointment
September 4th, 2008 - Waiver Appointment !

September 5th, 2008 - Crossed back into the U.S.!
October 2008 - Received Social Security Number
October 2008 - Received Driver's License
January 2009 - Started a part-time inventory counting job
May 2009 - Got first real legal job! Working at a dream job for a video game company


I hope our timeline can bring you some home !!

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

CDJ Experience 2008 - Part 2

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, August 7th – FIRST APPOINTMENT FOR VISA! Total chaos this morning!! We stayed outside until midnight and I stayed up until I think around 1 organizing things and going over stuff which we ended up not needing lol then even after hubby was asleep I got in bed but something was telling me “get up if you want your visa” and it wouldn’t stop.. It was telling me “put the photos CD in the computer just test it out and go back to bed if you want your visa” LOL!! So I did and then I kept getting gut feelings to do other things and I ended up going to sleep sometime after 2am. So in the morning we were supposed to meet at 6am to take the shuttle to the consulate. Around 6 we get a call from Cherokee and Mr. Cherokee and hubby is freaking out and I’m still asleep and confused as to why he was freaking out and then I remembered the shuttle leaves at 6! What happened is that our alarm lets you set 2 alarms so we always set one for buzzer and one for the radio. Well we picked a bad station or something and it was just a guy talking and since we are used to having the TV on and had the TV on in the hotel it did not wake us up! And the buzzer did not go off at least not that I can remember! So he was getting dressed super fast and Cherokee called me back to say that it was leaving and did I want Mr. C to tell it to wait and I said yes. Then as hubby left still buttoning his shirt she called again and said that it had left!! But that several others had missed it and that it was coming back. Hubby ended up getting on with MMGCA and her hubby and a few other people. He was upset and still sleepy and I felt soo terrible. He didn’t think the shuttle was going to come back and wanted to take a cab because it was getting to be 6:20ish. Finally it came and I didn’t want to say goodbye and he waved goodbye and I was soo sad...

I went back to the room and tried to go back to sleep. I felt so bad that it happened with so much chaos. We weren’t nervous anymore after the pre-interview and wanted to be happy and ready and positive. So I prayed for hubby several times over and over in my head and eventually I went to sleep but it was not a good sleep. I kept hearing footsteps and voices and things from outside my door and thinking people were in my room. Then one time I saw my hubby standing over the bed and talking to me but I couldn’t speak or move and I forced myself to wake up finally only to realize he was not there! Another time I thought I saw a ghost or something moving in the room. Then after about 1 hour of terrible sleep I heard a loud knock at the door and there he was!! I did not have my glasses and so when I looked out the peephole I couldn’t see anybody just a maid cart so when I opened it and there he was it was such a surprise!! It was only 8:30... He was smiling but I still asked him if it went ok because it was soo early! And he said yeah I guess kind of..! And I said what do you mean?? And he said “Well they said I wasn’t eligible for the visa but……… I am eligible for the waiver! (Big stupid grin)” Well duh! Lol! I kicked his butt after that... I had made him swear before ever leaving to CDJ no fake outs!!!! Lol I was still in shock and I was so relieved it didn’t really hit me that everything was ok now... In fact each day is such a whirlwind and we haven’t really had much time alone that it STILL hasn’t hit me...

INTERVIEW EXPERIENCE
His appointment was at 8:45 originally but got changed to 6:30. He got there around 6:25 and was let in almost right away and was waiting inside for 2 hours. He said they are not even open at this hour and they waited a long time while people came around and cleaned and were told to move several times so the cleaning people could clean there. It was like a DMV with no one at the windows. Finally they started opening windows, first 1 then 2 and finally about 6 or 7 windows. Hubby got the same guy as Mr. C. He said the guy was American and very nice although he did ask a ton of questions. The guy talked to him automatically in English (is it that obvious that my hubby is that Americanized LOL) and they did the whole interview in English only. They did not need ANYTHING from all the paperwork he had brought – not one single thing not even the passport pictures. If anything they gave us papers back, they gave us back a birth and marriage certificate. It was sorta disappointing after all that hard work and making extra copies of everything! But we are of course happy and relieved.

Questions Asked:
  • I see your vandalism charge but do you have any other arrests? No
  • No problems with immigration? No
  • Were you ever involved in any gangs? No
  • Does your wife speak Spanish? Yes she understands most of it but she can’t really speak it
  • Do you speak Spanish? Yes
  • How long have you been together? / How did you meet? We met online and talked for 3 years then she lived with me and my parents for 3 years until we moved out to our own place
  • When did you come to the U.S.? Approx 1987 or 1988
  • How did you come to the U.S.? A coyote
  • Where did you cross? I’m not sure in the desert
  • Yes, but where? Somewhere around TJ

Then he said ‘Sorry you are not eligible for the visa today but you are eligible for a waiver. Do you already have your appointment?” Hubby said yes and the officer said ok great, and gave him the paper, and that was it! He didn’t have to go and get instructions on the waiver or anything.

This is the paper they give you!!


We went down to breakfast which was just cereal and some bread and orange juice, coffee, and milk and we were looking at options where to go after this. Then we went upstairs and went back to sleep. The Cherokees woke us up a couple of hours later (lol this is becoming an every day occurrence :P) to see if we were down for another adventure! So we went to El Centro.. oooh my goodness don’t go there at least not the first part. Only go to where the Cathedral is and there is a MUCH calmer Mercado there. The first part where we got off, which is about 6-7 blocks before the Cathedral we got attacked! The cab hadn’t even stopped yet and a guy came up to my window and a guy came up to hubbys window and were saying things like “Welcome to Mexico!” and opening the doors for us while the cab was still moving. They kept harassing my hubby and following us all the way past the entrance.. I asked him what it was exactly they wanted and he said they each wanted us to go to their restaurant but it sounded like more than that because they kept saying oh I know of another entrance another place let’s go.. very shady !! We walked through the whole marketplace in like 2 minutes because people just jump out at you and surround you from all sides. You can’t look at anything because you will end up having to buy it. I saw soo many things we would have loved to buy but it was just way too high pressure. We almost literally ran through. Then as soon as we stepped outside people were in our face and shoving menus in our faces lol so we were pretty much stuck eating there. There were flies everywhere!! At least 20 vendors approached us as we were eating and we couldn’t fully relax. We saw a guy running and I looked up to see where he was running too… and we saw 3 blond white guys about 18-20 leaving in a cab and the guy somehow got the cab to stop and got the guys to get out..! They looked really confused and he led them inside... I felt so bad for them! I never saw them come out.. uh hope they were ok more blondies !!!

After that we walked to the Cathedral I was a bit nervous it was a downtown type area it looked like Downtown L.A. there was just a lot of people and hubby was sort of steering me around. The Mercado at the Cathedral is really nice at least compared to the other one and you can shop in peace like the ones here in L.A. Nobody is in your face or following you around like the other one. The Cherokees ended up getting a puppy after all! It’s the cutest pit-bull puppy ever. Hubby and I are jealous because we wanted it  after that we went to the movie theatre that is in San Lorenzo (?) it was a nice looking mall and the movie theatre was nice and it is cheap only about 160 pesos for 4 tickets.. They had all kinds of food not like here in the U.S. where it is only popcorn and hot dogs. Here they had cheesecake, smoothies, ice cream, pizzas, Paninis, crepes, etc. wow... We wished that the ones in Cali were like this! We saw Dark Knight it was awesome.. I expected it to be voiced over in Spanish and possibly with English subtitles but it was all in English with Spanish subtitles! Try to go there if you get a chance its very close to Los Cedros but far enough that I wouldn't walk it take a cab.


Random Observations/Tips
  • - TIME GOES SOOOO SLOW HERE. Seriously after 2 days it feels like a week and after a week it feels like a month. Even the times when you are having fun go slow!!
  • - The drivers are as crazy as everyone says (I did not believe lol)
  • - A lot of places look like they are closed when they are NOT!!
  • - The taxis will usually take the long way and (sometimes) rip you off but this happens anywhere and in the U.S. too and it can still be the safest and/or best and/or most comfortable option...
  • - Obviously do NOT watch the news here... Hubby had it on accidentally for like 20 seconds the other day and it was talking about a body found I think in a dumpster and I was yelling at him to change it lol but that stuck in my head dude!! Later when we were out I just kept thinking about that lol
  • - The things that people say take them with a grain of salt. Some things that people tell you will be true, and if it is a direct experience, but other things are just absolutely untrue.
  • - People here suck at giving directions/give bad directions. The cabs also go the long way or they go some weird way. I don’t know if it just because the streets are all desmadre or what but we got some bad directions that day when we were lost lol

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are only 4 things that remind me I am here in Mexico. The first time I saw a Chihuahua license plate (and I thought what/where is that?? Lol here!) And when I start to see everything in Pesos, and when you see the big army vehicles, or the cops, or the private armored car thingys they have here. And at the Pharmacy where it had a sign with a little picture graphic of a guy with a mask and gun with a line through it saying No Robas! We have cameras here. And at the Viva Mexico where it says we don’t serve armed people here no exceptions.. lol what the heck?? Other than that it does not feel too different from L.A. !!

__________________

CDJ Experience 2008 - Part 1

Well I never came back and posted on here LOL but here is a link to my CDJ experience!
http://immigrate2us.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24639

FINALLY my CDJ experience w/ photos !

GEEZ internet here in Mex is slow !!
Sorry this is so late I hope it can still help alot of people before the consulate moves !

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, August 3rd - We left L.A.
If you drive from SoCal the drive is about 12 hours and be prepared for some CRAZYYY weather in New Mexico ! Lightening just yards from the car, wind blowing you off the road, heavy heavy rain.. etc. Thanks again to Cherokee for driving that leg of the trip !!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday, August 4th - We left El Paso. This was the scariest moment of my life. I was in the hotel lobby bathroom at the Hyatt throwing up. The song Carry On was playing and I will NEVER forget that song. I felt like God or the universe was speaking directly to me and I tried to gather up the strength. We had to go leave the car in the El Paso long term parking lot and when I was taking the hotel shuttle back to the hotel I called hubby to let him know that we were on our way and then he told me Alfredo was there already I immediately got quiet and felt totally and completely sick to my stomach. I knew I was not going to feel better until I threw up. I was crying and sad and I was TERRIFED I did NOT want to go... Then in the actual crossing he separated us so we never had a big moment and we crossed soo fast and everything went so fast that it never really felt like I thought it would or how it should have felt for such a big crazy moment.



------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, August 5th - We left Los Cedros and moved to Hotel Colonial!! We also did the medical today. He left around 6 and was back around 9 and I was very surprised that he was back so early. I stayed in the room by myself the entire time and it was very lonely and I felt worried and then I was trying to read threads to find out how long other people’s hubbys had taken and then I found one (about one of the only ones) where it said they left and went in around 6/7 and weren’t back until 12! So here it was 9:30ish and I looked and thought oh no 3 more hours! But about 5 minutes later or I think maybe even less and there he was! I heard a knock at the door and I had been advised that the maids will knock a few times and then just enter (and had caught 2 girls hubby’s naked – all in one week alone LOL!!) So it was a hard knock so I knew it wasn’t the maid but he thought he was fooling me - I checked and I saw him trying to hide but I caught a small glimpse of his blue sleeve which I won’t ever forget! And then I knew it was him that goofball!!! We went to the Los Cedros breakfast buffet which was not as great as I thought it would be at least not by the way everyone talked about it! I guess that for a free breakfast it was good but not really at the same time... I love the buffet at the Viva Mexico WAAAAY more (except of course you have to pay for it lol!) After this we went to take a nap from which the Cherokees woke us up from to say that they were switching hotels and did we want to come? LOL At first I thought no way and hubby thought no way too but we were sleeping and needed time to process it lol. So then we decided it would be a good/fun idea and that we should all stick together with them and so we did we left! Mr. C called a cab and it was there and we had to pack up everything super fast (like 5 mins or under 5 mins lol and Luis was checking out so I think I had to do pretty much most of it!!) and we left so fast that we did forget something Luis forgot his earring I was sad/mad I liked his ear being pierced!! I told him he had to buy another one but we forgot to find one

Hotel Colonial



Hanging out by the pool!


MEDICAL EXPERIENCE
Hubby went to the one across the street our experience was a good one.. hubby said they were very friendly .. he said to others they were just professional, not mean but not nice, but because others acted all quiet and nervous.. But he just smiled and said hello and how are you and they treated him really nice.. so just be friendly !!!

They left around 6:15 and got there probably 6:30 .. he was back here around 9:30 so the actual time spent in the clinic was probably about 2 1/2 hours .. he said there was no line to go in you just walk in and wait like the DMV..

First they call you to get your name and stuff and then they call you later, take your picture, and take you to a tiny room where first you are with about 5-6 others for the X-Rays .. then you go to the exam room and they weigh you, take blood pressure, etc. Then you go back and sit down and wait to be called again - this is the naked part lol! They were really nice just kept asking him if he had any tattoos like 3 times even though he already showed them (the nurse even said it was nice and she liked it LOL (a cross).

We had to go back at 4 for the results, and then the next day at 12 to the consulate for document review..

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, August 6th - The pre-interview was today. Again I was very surprised and scared when hubby came back so fast! (After about only 1 hr and a half!) Cherokee and I only had time to walk to the Superette and a Pharmacy and chill in the lobby for a while where we saw them pull up in the taxi and come in! Somehow I knew the taxi was him I have no clue why!! I saw a cab pull up and just felt it in my heart that it was him. I thought that something was wrong but it wasn't. I saw it pull up and heard a door slam and I thought again that it was him. Then I heard a second door slam and thought oh ok that's not him. But then I looked up again a few seconds later and saw Mr. C and then hubby right behind... They were striding off in the opposite direction and I called out to him but he didn't hear me and Cherokee called out to her hubby and they finally turned around and came towards us I walked to him and asked if everything was ok but he was smiling so I knew it was! You know I think for the waiver I am determined to wait outside because it is not that bad and by not waiting outside I feel like I am missing out on something.

INTERVIEW EXPERIENCE
Mr. Task and Mr. C had to go to the consulate at 12 to turn in the medical results and review the paperwork. They got there around 11:30 and were let in right away and just had to wait inside. After that they waited about 1 hour and were finally called up. The lady did not even ask to see hubby's paperwork. They never asked us at any point for anything. Hubby had to leave his passport with them and they changed his appointment time from 8:45 the next day to 6:30 the next day and was given a new paper with the time to come back and to go to Building B. Then they did the fingerprints (now free) and were let out.

The guys said their cab driver by the consulate today said business is very slow and they haven't been taking many people across the border like they used to... the cabs just sit around alot... The guy said he thought it was because they are approving less but I think it is because less people have appointments right now. Maybe they decided to slow it down since they are moving soon, I'm not sure, but I know that everyone has been coming out extremely fast. They said there was no line and then once inside they barely had to wait and it was sorta empty... And when MBLA's hubby came back it was something like 1:30 or 2 pm very early... The medicals were very fast yesterday as well. Plus every day when we go to the consulate it is busy but not like pictures I have seen from before. Maybe like 5 people inside each restaurant/waiting area... hmm who knows! Just our observations... We certainly have several people from the forum here!!


Questions Asked:
  • When did you enter the U.S.?
  • How did you enter the U.S.?
  • Where does your wife work?
  • What is your address in California?
  • What was your address in Mexico?


After the guys were back we went to the buffet at Viva Mexico. It will appear to be closed and this is because the front part actually is closed and there is another restaurant that was sort of part of it Yuba Cafe and it looks all abandoned. You just need to walk around the left side and walk towards the back. I will include some pics so you can see how to find the back entrance because it was completely worth it! The buffet was huge and for only $5 and included some great deserts. I really want to go back for the show. The shows are on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights and are supposed to be extremely entertaining and fun.

- its not closed I promise !!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!



After going back to the hotel and resting for a bit and changing out of their fancy clothes we left again and walked around to various malls before coming back and hanging out with MBLA and hubby who were approved today!! I can't even remember which malls we went to I know first we went to the Wal-Mart (the new one by Los Cedros) which is actually in a mall and then we went to the Rio Grande mall which is right next to the Wal-Mart. After that we went to the one by the Holiday Inn Lincoln. I remember reading a post that said these malls were not nice and do not go to them but they were fancy and safe and clean. All of them were very nice and seemed almost exactly like an American mall just with different stores and the main stores are open to the halls of the mall. Like you will walk in the entrance for the Wal-Mart or S-Mart and instead of being in the store you are in the mall and have to walk a bit to find the store.



At the Wal-Mart they have everything it is much bigger than it looks from the picture. They even had a photo department where I was able to get a picture CD. They said that several things hadn't arrived for example women's swimsuits which never came and so then they never ordered more because the season had passed. But it seemed like they had mostly everything. They even had a pretty good Electronics section and a very big grocery section. They had a huge pharmacy/personal care/health/cosmetic etc. section like a CVS or drugstore. The people working there are still fairly new and so we had to ask 3 or 4 different people before one of them finally found us some bug spray. So if you are looking for something just keep looking/asking more people. Here at this Wal-Mart the baggers are young kids. One was about 12 years old. Mr. C. said they work off of tips only and they do not pay them!! So please if you get one tip them!!

At one of the malls I think the Rio Grande Mall, we saw the cutest dogs and Cherokee was *THIS* close to buying one she was a Schnauzer it was so cute!! I've seen several pet stores around here they seem to have one at every mall and even in the swap-meet type place. I would be careful buying a dog from here though. There is a department store in the mall I think it is called Coppels or something like that and it was interesting to see how much things cost and to see the different washing machines and stoves, etc.

The food court in the Rio Grande Mall (by the Smart)


We were going to go the movies but the 2 theatres that were here (In the Rio Grande mall and in the Plaza Americas mall) were closed down. The one in Plaza Americas is closed for remodeling though and should be back open someday soon!

So we went back to the hotel and chilled for several hours with MBLA and her hubby who were of course happy to be approved! We got some tacos which made everyone sick haha. Me and hubby went swimming which was nice and refreshing. We stayed up pretty late even though we had the visa interview today lol. For some reason we weren't taking it that seriously and it turned out to be not a big deal so I guess... it was ok!

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

First post.. we are still waiting to get the date for our 1st appointment.. I thought we might get one for July but now it looks like it will be August hopefully.. I just want to get it over with !!

.